A Gig! A Gig! My Basket for a Gig!

When you wait until you’re almost 50 before you start an amateur venture as a performer… it’s only natural that you have NO IDEA how to do it!  So I’ve been a bit slow getting off the ground, mostly because I’ve been bashful about putting myself out there.

But last week, I went to Houston and performed a song at the Thrill the World Houston event – a fundraiser for Aim at Melanoma. It was only one song, but it was a big crowd in an open venue – Discovery Green in downtown Houston. I was pretty scared, I tell ya. But I did okay.

So, after surviving that, I decided to say yes to a call to perform at the Go-Girls Music Fest on November 20 at Opening Bell Coffee. This is one of the better venues in Dallas for music like mine.  I’ve seen some really good folks there… which is why I haven’t even TRIED doing an open mic there. But now here I am performing on the same stage with some really good acts. Who do I think I am?

I’m still the same bashful, not-too-sure-of-myself  “girl” who likes to sing, and can accompany herself on the guitar.

Another odd thing about it is that I said yes, even though I’ll be driving back from Houston that day after my scans and doctor visit at MD Anderson Cancer Center. I must be feeling pretty sure that I won’t be getting bad news!  A couple of years ago, I never would have committed to something the day of my doctor visit! I would have been too afraid that I’d be a basket case. 

Some people come out of the closet. Me? I’m climbing out of the basket. Hooray!

The Go-Girls Music Fest is a charity event. There is a small cover charge, along with a raffle and a silent auction. Proceeds will benefit The Wesley Inn Program of Promise House in Dallas, a maternity home that guides 14- through 20-year-old homeless pregnant and parenting teen mothers to become healthy, independent and nurturing parents.

I’d love to see you there! Opening Bell Coffee is at 1409 South Lamar, Basement #012, Dallas, TX 75215. Free parking on Belleview Street entrance.

~ by jackiedoss on October 29, 2009.

One Response to “A Gig! A Gig! My Basket for a Gig!”

  1. Girl you are SO “there” already, you just don’t know it yet. You’re going to be great and I can’t wait to be in your audience!

Leave a Reply

 
