My Next Gig: May 29, 2008

I hope to see you May 29th at Saxby’s (see Gig page for address). I’ve added a few songs to the repertoire. I’ll be there from 6:00 to 8:30, with a break 7:00-7:30.

I think you’ll like Saxby’s. It’s just a small coffee house, but, like the other coffee house that starts with an “S,” they have prepackaged sandwiches and desserts, so you won’t go hungry. And their beverages are great… from coffee/tea to yummie smoothies. And… get this… they’re SMALL, MEDIUM, and LARGE. What a concept! (Oh, and have you ever tried asking Starbucks for a refill of your iced tea? Yeah. I thought so).

For the record, I didn’t get many laughs when I first debuted my song about menopause, “Hot Flashes or Global Warming,” at Dunn Bros. I suspected that it was because most of the people there were men, and they just didn’t “get it.” Sure enough, I sang it to my girlfriends on a retreat, and they laughed hysterically all the way through it. So perhaps there’s hope for it after all.

I’m very sorry to announce that the Coffee Beanery in Colleyville had to close. My best wishes to Barbara in her future endeavors. Meanwhile, I’m looking for another venue in Tarrant County, preferably the Grapevine area. If you have any ideas, let me know.

~ by jackiedoss on May 15, 2008.

One Response to “My Next Gig: May 29, 2008”

  1. Is there any chance you could upload a soundfile of one of your songs? I could listen to the song, close my eyes and pretend I made it to your show… Dallas is a long way away for me. By the way, how’s the dead poet guitar doing – did your part fit?

Leave a Reply

 
