NaNoWriMo Day 19… What Happened?

What happened in my novel between Day 12 and Day 19? Um… nothing. I went on vacation. Yes, I slotted time for writing while we were in Florida, but things started out badly when I couldn’t open my laptop on the plane because the person in front of me reclined his seat. I know. I know. I can’t blame my entire lack of productivity on that one person. But things did go downhill from there.

When I opened my story to write again a few days later (the first few days were busy with theme parks and such), I was stuck. My so-called villain was in revolt. “I never asked to be a villain,” he cried out to me from the page, “You can’t make me be one. Pick someone else.”  

So I spent a couple of days in angst over who should be the villain and why. With much note-taking and some character interviewing, I think I’ve changed directions. And I’m only 10,000 words behind on my word count. 😦

So there you have it… the life of a writer. It all seems so neat and tidy when you, the reader, cozy up with a book and dive into its pages with abandon. But I’m here to tell you, it’s not as easy as it seems. Just imagine a character refusing to be what you want him to be! Imagine!

But I’m not giving up. I SHALL at least write 50,000 words by the end of November… Whether there will be a plot or not is anyone’s guess.

~ by jackiedoss on November 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
