NaNoWriMo Day 8… And I’m ahead on my word count

I wrote 5,000 words today! I had to catch up (and get ahead) on my word count… but mostly, I had to make sure I knew what was going on in my novel. You see, the main character was just talking to people and running around in circles. Nothing was happening except a few inane conversations. At one point I even tried channelling Kurt Vonnegut just to see what would happen.

As it turned out, my main character needed an exorcism. She was behaving a bit too much like yours truly instead of her spunky assertive self. I realized that a person who avoids conflict… and is shy around strangers…will not do well as a main character in a book (if said book needs the plot to be advanced, that is).

Plot is made of conflict. And conflict comes from characters who are willing to stir the pot. And this particular main character is a journalist. So… um… she needs to ask questions, poke her nose where it doesn’t belong, and stop just standing around wondering what’s going on. Whew! I’m glad I successfully exorcised myself from her. NOW something can start happening.

There’s a body in the winery. And I know how it got there. Nanner nanner.

~ by jackiedoss on November 8, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
