NaNoWriMo is Here… and I’m ahead on my word count

By 10 a.m. this morning, I had written 3,570 words toward my 50,000-word goal. That’s over twice the RDA. I’m trying to get ahead so that if things come up during the month I’ll be able to breathe easy and still reach my goal by the end of the month.

So far, Jessi Monroe has met some characters that look dangerously similar to former coworkers of mine. Now I know what they mean by “write what you know.” It’s not that I’m using the actual people… just their looks and mannerisms. It’s so much easier than inventing someone from scratch. They come to life very quickly. Let’s hope they keep up the pace.

Today’s haunts included IHOP (Endless coffee refills after an omlette sounded like just the right thing at 6:30 am… but the coffee was weak… so on to…) and Starbucks (I still smell like Starbucks, and I’m now minus fourbucks after nursing a venti for about 2 hours.) While it was good to get out of the house and away from distractions, I think I’ll start using the library more often so as not to spend an inordinate amount of money on coffee.

For the record, it’s hard not to edit as I write. But I have to have faith that I will make the appropriate edits later…. and if I don’t just keep writing, I probably won’t write later. Editing…. good wine, but not before it’s time.

~ by jackiedoss on November 1, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
