Wayfaring Strangers

Wayfaring Strangers is the name of a piece of writing I’ve been working on (on and off) for about 15 years. At first it was intended to be a series of related short stories. Then I realized that the stories were more like vignettes. So it was to be a series of related vignettes. However, the project continues to morph, and I am an innocent bystander in the process. The more I work on it, the more it becomes something else. I’ve had lots of “intentions” through the years, but God keeps dropping new ideas into my brain and heart as I continue in this labor of love.

The stories stem from a certain period in my life when I rode a bus to work. I rode the “yuppie” bus from Kingwood, a far-removed suburb of Houston, into the inner city. I then rode the “bag lady” bus from downtown to the West End.  I encountered people from all walks of life as I travelled on those buses.

The intended audience is secular, but the book carries a Christian message about salvation and sanctification. Each character has his/her own personal encounter with Christ. Of course, there is no literal “Christ” in the story, just a literary represention(s) of him.

I’m enjoying watching these stories unfold and melt together as the characters develop. I wonder what will happen next?

~ by jackiedoss on October 5, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
