Pre-writing?

I have come to the conclusion that I simply cannot write if my house is cluttered or dirty. It’s an appalling conclusion, seeing that … well… just seeing my house on any given day.

A recent trip to Houston for my quarterly scans at MDA proved this point to me. I made constructive use of my time, and therefore lots of progress on Wayfaring Strangers, while in the motel room, . There’s something to be said for an uncluttered room, mind, and schedule. Or shall I say “There’s something to be written.” Or perhaps I should write it. But then, I already did.  

See what happens when my house is cluttered and messy? My mind turns to mush. I don’t know if I’m coming or going. The ink on the calendar is spilling into the margins, and the thoughts in my mind are not unlike the dust particles on my dresser…crammed together with no breathing room. Achooooo!

I have 31 Flylady messages in my Flylady inbox. These e-mails are supposed to remind me of household tasks, none of which takes more than 15 minutes, to keep my home visitor-ready.  But my mind is too cluttered to do anything but delete the messages en masse.

I tell myself, “Don’t waste time cleaning house when you could be writing or composing.” Self says, “Oh yeah? What about all the time you’re spending on mindless computer ‘tasks’? Either way, you’re wasting precious time.” In a writers workshop years ago I learned that such tasks, whether it’s doing a load of laundry or dusting the mantle, are considered pre-writing. But I think I’m taking it a bit far when I spend time reading and replying to mindless forum posts or watching television. Don’t you think so, Self? “Achooooo!” 

~ by jackiedoss on September 29, 2007.

2 Responses to “Pre-writing?”

  1. Sitting down to write, summoning the nerve and staying power is tough. Much easier to vacuum and wash the windows, check the fluid levels of the car…don’t allow these tasks to distract you, it’s your fears and trepidations leading you astray. Let the house fall apart around your ears, just put pen to paper and commence work…

  2. Hey
    Congrats on the new site! I am assuming everything went well at MDA, I don’t go back until November. I know what you mean about clutter, it really does effect your state of mind, at least for me anyway. So proud and excited for you on going for your dreams. Sending many good wishes your way.

    Darci (happy go lucky grace)

Leave a Reply

 
