A Website for What?

So I went to a writers conference. I had a private consultation with a published author. I asked her how she published so many books in such a short time. She said she started writing in 1995 when her husband said he was tired of hearing her talk about writing, that if she was going to write, she should write. So she wrote. She approached it as a business, set her office hours, improved her skills, marketed herself, networked with other writers… and she wrote… and she wrote… and she wrote.

She suggested that I take my writing seriously and do it the way she did… including setting up a website. “Even if I haven’t published anything yet?” I said, “Even if you haven’t published anything.”

So here it is. I already have a couple of blog sites that I write random things on (www.xanga.com/jackiedoss and http://jackiedoss.blogspot.com/, but I’m going to give wordpress a whirl, since it offers me additional pages rather than just a blog. If it doesn’t drive me crazy, I’ll use wordpress.org and get my own URL so that when my published works start piling up, I’ll have a place to tell the world about them.

I’m still not sure what I’ll be blogging about here… but I think it will be about my writing/songwriting adventures. I’ll talk about how my characters are driving me crazy, or how I can’t figure out how to make the first verse sound better. And you’re welcome to chime in anytime.

~ by jackiedoss on September 17, 2007.

One Response to “A Website for What?”

  1. Hi Jackie,

    I’ve considered a wordpress blog myself. In my case I’m thinking more of a separate wordpress site as a way to cull out some of my better photographs and only post the better ones as opposed to the mishmash I do on my blog. I think it’s great that you are going to be focusing on your writing and taking it seriously.

    As ever, Carver

Leave a Reply

 
