I Have Sworn Off Writing

A few weeks ago I came to the conclusion that I should stop beating myself up for not constantly pursuing a writing life.  So I gave myself permission to stop trying… at least for a while.

Being a Jackie-of-all-trades can be conflicting (Yes, that was two to-be verbs in a span of five words. Shoot me). (Oh, and while you’re at it, denigrate me for using parentheses. I can take it.) Sometimes I feel like three or four people in one, and most of us are either arguing with one another or being passive aggressive. In short… I am a committee. And you know how productive committees can be!

I asked myself which of my endeavors I was enjoying most, and I answered “my music.” I also asked myself which of my endeavors I was likely to enjoy success in. I answered “my music.”

I am not giving up writing completely. I still enjoy it, but I do not enjoy spending a lot of time looking for a publication to write for and then trying to figure out exactly what they want and then deciding that I don’t want to write what they want.  Besides, writing is hard. Especially when you’re trying.

I will probably stay involved with my writing groups, but I’m not trying to get published. For now. And I’m okay with that.

~ by jackiedoss on May 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “I Have Sworn Off Writing”

  1. Eees okay, my greengo friend. We steel love you. Jen.

  2. It’s amazing how God answers the desires of our hearts. I wrote this post in 2009, and in 2012, I became a roster artist with Incubator Creative Group, who is mentoring me in ALL the things I love: Spirituality, Writing, Music. God always provides above and beyond what we could ever hope or imagine.

Leave a comment